By Abigail Carroll. Vegetarian Diet. At Monday, April 29th 2019, 06:15:37 AM.
What do vegans eat and avoid? Vegans avoid all animal‐derived foods – so as well as meat and fish, that means no eggs, dairy or honey. They also exclude animal byproducts like rennet used in cheese making, gelatin in desserts and certain E numbers including the red food dye cochineal (E120). Even certain vegetarian foods, such as some meat substitutes, are off the menu because they contain egg and sometimes dairy.
Lacto-vegetarian diets except for meat, fish, poultry, and eggs, as well as foods that contain them. Dairy goods, such as milk, cheese, yogurt, and butter, are involved. Ovo-vegetarian diets prohibit meat, poultry, seafood, and dairy products, but let eggs.Lacto-ovo vegetarian diets prohibit meat, fish, and poultry, but let dairy products and eggs.Pescatarian diets prohibit meat and poultry, dairy, and eggs, but let fish. Vegan diets prohibit meat, poultry, fish, eggs and dairy products — and foods that contain these products.
Calcium is needed for strong and healthy bones and teeth. Non-vegans get most of their calcium from dairy foods (milk, cheese and yogurt), but vegans can get it from other foods, such as: green, leafy vegetables – such as broccoli, cabbage and okra,fortified unsweetened soys, rice and oat drinks, calcium-set tofu,sesame seeds and Tahini,pulses, brown and white bread (in the UK, calcium is added to white and brown flour by law), dried fruit, such as raisins, prunes, figs and dried apricots.
Baum Whiteman, a food consultancy, has announced plant-based diets the trend of 2018 and foretells it will continue to grow in 2019. Studying as much as you could about going vegan will help you make smart, ethical choices about the products you consume.